Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Peer Mentor Online Training 2022

October 3, 2022 @ 1:00 pm - November 21, 2022 @ 3:30 pm

Peer Mentor Application Process and Online Training Schedule

The Recovery Transition Program is accepting applications for the next peer mentor training course. The ideal candidate would be a current or former patient at the Allan Memorial Institute or the Griffith Edwards Centre in stable recovery with the capacity to participate in the training program.

The training will be conducted by experienced Peer Mentors and will cover many topics including confidentiality, boundaries and the appropriate role of a Peer Mentor within the context of a healthcare institution. Following training, peer mentors will receive ongoing weekly supervision and support for a maximum commitment of 6 hours per week for one year.

 

The next Peer Mentor training course will be held in person at the Allan Memorial Institute (with the option of joining via Zoom as circumstances dictate). It will take place 2 days a week from October 3, 2022 to November 23, 2022, for a total of 30 training hours. The full course schedule with dates and times can be found at the bottom of this page.

In order to apply, candidates must fill out the attached screening form and send by e-mail to patricia.lucas@muhc.mcgill.ca The deadline for applications is Friday, September 23, 2022. Any questions can be addressed to the RTP Coordinator, Patricia Lucas.  If the applicant is accepted, they will be contacted by the RTP to arrange a time for an interview with the training team.

Monday, October 3
1:00 – 2:30 pm

Orientation meeting

Monday, October 17
Wednesday, October 19
1:00 – 3:30 pm
Peer mentor roles, confidentiality, values and beliefs
Monday, October 24
Wednesday, October 26
1:00 – 3:30 pm
Communication and listening skills, skills practice (roleplay activity)
Monday, October 31
Wednesday, November 2
1:00 – 3:30 pm
Communication and listening skills cont’d, hope and recovery, boundaries and self-disclosure, skills practice (roleplay activity)
Monday, November 7
Wednesday, November 9
1:00 – 3:30 pm
Dealing with crises and difficult situations, trauma-informed care, self-care practices
Monday, November 14
Wednesday, November 16
1:00 – 3:30 pm
Skills review and practice (roleplay activity), problem solving
Monday, November 21
Friday, November 23
1 – 3:30 pm
Review procedures for peer-mentoring, sharing resources, closing celebration

For more information about the RTP please see our website: www.recoverytransitionprogram.com

To print this schedule, please download this document.

Details

Start:
October 3, 2022 @ 1:00 pm
End:
November 21, 2022 @ 3:30 pm